ul. Furmanova, 126, suite 1111, Ekaterinburg, Russia
E-mail: info@microintech.ru feedback form

research, development, production - result

Articles >>

Catalyst Carrier

A catalyst carrier (support) is a low-activity or inert material, which serves to stabilize the particles of the catalytic active phase on its surface.

The catalyst carrier can be used in the form of natural (various clays, asbestos, pumice, diatomite) or synthetic materials (oxides of aluminium, zirconium or magnesium, silica gel, activated carbons, aluminosilicates).

 Functions of Catalyst Carriers

The function of carriers in heterogenous catalysis is to prevent the sintering or agglomeration of the active component to maintain the required area of contact between the agents and the active substance. The amount of the catalyst carrier is generally greater than the amount of the primary active component applied onto it.

The principal requirements for catalyst carriers include a large surface area, thermal stability, porosity, chemical inertness and increased mechanical strength. In some cases, catalyst carriers affect the active phase performance, that is the effect of a strong interaction between the metal and the carrier is observed.

 Types of Catalyst Carriers

Most often, ceramic materials serve as a base for application of various types of industrial catalysts. It is allowed to use ceramic carriers at elevated temperatures, this is why, in many cases, it is an adequate solution to the process tasks assigned.

Wide-spread types of catalyst carriers are as follows:

  • cellular-type carriers in various sizes and forms;
  • cellular-type carriers with a large number of holes: they are used for the afterburning of produced exhaust gases in case of using internal combustion engines;
  • porous ceramic granulates are bulk-type carriers with diversiform individual particles (petal-shaped, cylindrical and others);
  • porous ceramic granulates, used for catalytic filter medium, which is necessary for decomposition of active residual chlorine into chloride ions and high-reactivity atomic oxygen: these materials are suitable for integrated sewage treatment and water dechlorination in circulating and industrial water supply systems.

The well-developed carrier surface ensures an impressive increase in the efficiency of agent transformation in various chemical processes. Bulk-type catalyst carriers, having well-developed surfaces, are characterized by numerous internal openings and a regular geometry of the carrier. Well-developed surfaces of granular carriers appear due to small granule sizes and an open porous structure.

Microintech produces catalyst carriers according to our customers’ requirements, specified for the type of surface, geometry and physical and mechanical properties needed.

620144, г. Екатеринбург, ул. Фурманова, 126, оф. 1111
+7 (343) 302-08-84 E-mail: info@microintech.ru форма для связи


исследование, разработка, производство - результат.

Полезное >>

Носитель для катализатора

Носитель (подложка) катализатора представляет собой малоактивный или инертный материал, выполняющий функцию стабилизации на своей поверхности частиц каталитической активной фазы.

Носитель для катализатора может использоваться в виде природных материалов (различные глины, асбест, пемза, диатомит) или синтетических (оксиды алюминия, циркония, магния, силикагель, активные угли, алюмосиликаты).

 

Функции носителей для катализаторов

Роль носителей в процессах гетерогенного катализа заключается в предотвращении спекания или агломерации активного компонента для поддержания необходимой площади контакта реагентов и активного вещества. Носитель для катализатора используется обычно в большем количестве, чем нанесенный на него основной активный компонент.

К основным требованиям, предъявляемым к носителям катализаторов, относят большую площадь поверхности, термическую стабильность, пористость, химическую инертность, повышенную механическую прочность. В некоторых случаях носитель для катализатора оказывает воздействие на характеристики активной фазы, то есть наблюдается эффект сильного взаимодействия между металлом и носителем.

 

Разновидности носителей для катализаторов

Основой для нанесения катализаторов различных видов, применяемых в промышленности, часто служат керамические материалы. Использование керамических носителей допустимо при повышенных температурах, поэтому является во многих случаях оптимальным решением поставленных технологических задач.

Распространенные виды носителей катализаторов:

  • сотовой разновидности различных размеров и форм;
  • сотовой разновидности с большим числом отверстий – применяются для дожигания образующихся выхлопных газов при использовании двигателей внутреннего сгорания;
  • пористые керамические грануляты – носители насыпного типа с различающейся формой отдельных частиц (лепестковые, цилиндрические и другие);
  • пористые керамические грануляты, используемые при каталитической загрузке фильтров, необходимых для разложения активного остаточного хлора на ионы хлора и обладающий высокой реакционной способностью атомарный кислород – материалы подходят для проведения глубокой очистки стоков, дехлорирования воды в оборотных и технологических системах водоснабжения.

 

Развитая поверхность носителя гарантирует существенное увеличение эффективности превращения реагентов в различных химических процессах. Носитель для катализатора насыпного типа, обладающий развитой поверхностью, характеризуется многочисленными внутренними отверстиями и рациональной геометрической формой носителя. Развитая поверхность носителей гранулированного типа обеспечивается благодаря малому размеру гранул и открытой пористой структуре.

 

Компания «Микроинтек» производит носители для катализаторов согласно требованиям заказчика к типу поверхности, геометрической форме и физико-механическим показателям.